Drop-in Distress Tolerance Workshop

Drop-in Distress Tolerance Workshop promotional image

Distress Tolerance Workshop with Heidi Schmitt, LISW and Holly Nicely, PsyD

This is a 60-minute workshop focused on learning distress tolerance skills. Distress tolerance is the ability to manage distressing emotions and move through stressful situations in an effective manner. This is a DBT informed curriculum-driven series with structure and specific learning objectives and topics for each week. All participants will receive handouts with exercises to be completed both within and outside the group to facilitate their learning. Students will work to develop their own coping skills plan throughout this workshop.

Students are asked to view a brief video on mindfulness prior to attendance of this workshop. A foundational understanding of mindfulness is key to effectively applying tolerance strategies.  Click here to view the video.

Topic Schedule:
Coping with your senses: Self Soothing, TIPP skill, IMPROVE the Moment skill
May 25; June 15; July 6; Aug. 27

Coping with challenging emotions: The Wave skill, Wise Mind ACCEPTS, Opposite Action to Change Emotions
June 1; June 22; July 13; Aug. 3

Coping Ahead: Pro/Cons, STOP skill, create a coping skills kit
June 8; June 29; July 20; Aug. 10

Time/Day: Noon-1 p.m. on Wednesdays
How to Join: https://uiowa.zoom.us/j/91093145928?pwd=cHZ0L25BNlZ2bHFYRUFvRUU0S3ZsQT09
Meeting ID: 910 9314 5928
Passcode: 082238

Wednesday, June 1, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 8, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 6, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 27, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, August 3, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
Wednesday, August 10, 2022 12:00pm to 1:00pm
View on Event Calendar
Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact University Counseling Service in advance at 319-335-7294 or ucs@uiowa.edu.