Skip to main content

Suicide Prevention

UI Suicide Prevention Task Force

The Suicide Prevention Task Force at the University of Iowa was founded in 2020 with the intent to establish a culture of suicide prevention on campus. Our primary mission is to provide leadership in the development of connections and partnerships of students, faculty, and staff in order to create a holistic, sustainable, research-driven, and culturally informed approach to suicide prevention. As we grow our relationships throughout the campus community, we hope to foster an authentic sense of belonging to the University of Iowa, reduce the stigma of mental health & suicide, and facilitate collective hope as we work to reduce suicide on our campus.

We are grateful that you have taken the time to visit our page. If you are interested in more information or would like to become involved in our efforts, please email Dr. Ian Evans at Dr. Evans is a staff therapist for the University Counseling Service and has service as the Suicide Prevention Coordinator since 2020.

Resources for suicide prevention

If you or someone you know are in crisis and are concerned for their immediate safety & well-being, call 9-1-1.

Get help now

If you are having thoughts about suicide or are looking for someone to have a judgment-free place to talk, there are many options available to you:

Crisis Text Line: Text "HOME" to 741741

Iowa Crisis Chat

Suicide Prevention Lifeline

  • English: 1-800-273-8255 (English)
  • EspaƱol 1-888-628-9454
  • TTY: 1-800-799-4889

Your Life Iowa

  • Live Chat
  • Call: 1-855-581-8111
  • Text: 1-855-895-8398

On-campus resources

Off-campus resources

Suicide prevention task force members

  • Thomas Arce - Multicultural and International Student Support and Engagement
  • Rawan Atari-Khan - University Counseling Service
  • Kelly Clougher - University Counseling Service
  • JoAnn Daehler-Miller - Student Wellness
  • Ian Evans - University Counseling Service
  • Anna Holbrook - Office of the Dean of Students
  • Annamaria Iarrapino - Active Minds
  • Jeniece Nott - Student Health
  • Nathen Spitz - Carver College of Medicine & National Alliance on Mental Illness
  • Martha Pierce - Women's Resource and Action Center